top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErica Mascarenhas

FY...Bye!


I didn't think I'd be writing this so soon. I most certainly didn't think I'd be writing this instead of studying for economics at six in the morning but, then again, here I am. At a quarter past ten tomorrow morning, first year of degree college will be officially over. Frankly, I have mixed feelings about it. One one hand I can't believe it's over, it feels like I just started a week ago but, on the other hand, I am slightly glad that it's over.

This year was a roller coaster, to say the least. I had some great times and some not so great times. It started with my anxiety being at an all time high and me being worried about not fitting in and not making friends but, that feeling slowly faded away. I realized that by just being myself, I found people who genuinely wanted to be my friends and that is the best feeling in the world. But, like anything else you do in life, this year came with its own challenges. At one point, I genuinely felt like I wanted to run away because I just couldn't handle it. Life was putting me to the test and I wasn't about to cave.

The one lesson I would say that I learnt this year is patience. Patience to give people their own space to grow. Patience to give yourself the time to prioritize what really matters. And most importantly, patience to let things go because trust me, somethings aren't worth losing your sleep over. Another thing I realized is, how much I love my sleep. Waking up at 5 ever morning is not a joke. All in all I feel like I really grew this year and I stepped out of my comfort zone quite a bit. That being said, I can't wait to wake up at midday and go on vacation.

Lastly, I have to acknowledge a few people because without them I would've been one hell of a mess.

My bois, you know I can't live without the two of you. Thank you for having my back like always and for handling my sorry ass self on bad days.

My best friends, what would I do without the two of you? Thank you for constantly reminding me that I always had you to fall back on and for all the lame jokes that make me smile.

My group with some cliche name, this year would've been impossible to deal with without the three of you. Thank you for all the study groups and endless heart to heart talks.

My kiddo and my don, thank you for all the pep talks and all the threatening phone calls and the epic bake sale. Most importantly, for reminding me of what I deserve and what I'm capable of.

My classmates, my new friends and my old ones, for some of the best experiences: bus rides, AM night dances, prom night, traditional day, breaks, projects and SCENES!! It's been a great year and here's to the next two.

I love all of you and I can't wait to see what life has in store for us.


Xoxo Erica.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fluffy Pancakes

A little pancake recipe to make quarantine more fun and very tasty

bottom of page