top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErica Mascarenhas

It's Okay!


I think that it's safe to say that, in all our lives we face some highs and lows, some considerably severe than the others and the most common things you're told are, 'It'll pass' or 'Don't think about it too much'. I speak from experience when I say that it's easier said than done. When something bad happens, it's very easy to get sucked into the negativity and lose sight of everything else. It becomes very easy to believe that all bad things happen to only you or that nothing good will ever happen to you or that you might never pull yourself out of it. Been there, done that! And every second person telling you that it'll be alright doesn't make it easier and quite frankly it becomes a little annoying and a tad bit frustrating. 

So hear me when I tell you that it is absolutely okay to walk into the darkness or to feel consumed by sadness. You need yourself to understand this negative situation and come to terms with it on your own timeline. I belong to that category of people that believes that things happen for a reason. I also believe that every negative or downfall in your life no matter how big it seems, paves the way for an even bigger positive. 

What you have to tell yourself when you're in these kinds of situations is that once you've made peace with your demons, you have to use it to make yourself stronger, grow from it and move on. While people never fail to tell you that you'll pull yourself out of this, the very crucial detail that they almost always leave out is that you don't have to pull yourself out of it alone! 

Now, while some people will tell you to open up to your parents and talk to them and let them in but I totally understand not wanting to do that, I don't. They not always understand where you're coming from and why you're upset. It's not necessarily their fault, in my opinion, they're just wired that way. But, you're not alone. Now I'm not going to tell you that you should see a therapist or a counselor, if you feel the need to then yes, of course, please do. 

What I'm trying to say is that, considering the way you feel, there are most likely many other that relate to the way you feel in varying degrees. So, talk to them. Trust me, it feels amazing to let it all out and not have to shove it down and hold it in. And when your hear other people relate to how you feel and share their own feelings, it just gives you that little validation that you're not entirely crazy. That being said, I feel so and if any of you ever need to vent, hit me up, I got you!


Xoxo Erica.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fluffy Pancakes

A little pancake recipe to make quarantine more fun and very tasty

bottom of page